Epidemic and Communicable Diseases (including Ebola)

Information on the Survivability of the Ebola Virus in Medical Waste | Ebola Hemorrhagic

Nebraska biocontainment unit perspective on ebola medical waste

Understanding the Ebola Virus  – Webinar – broadcast Wednesday, December 17th at 8AM PST, 11AM EST, 4PM GMT, 5PM CET

The Ebola epidemic in west Africa has highlighted the threat of emerging infectious diseases to public health. In this webinar, Kartik Chandran outlines the importance of basic molecular research to understand how Ebola enters human cells, and why such research has been key to developing drugs and vaccines. Simon Hay also explains how mapping and modeling can help identify where are the places where Ebola and other emerging diseases risk jumping from animals to people.

The session will also include a discussion on how, more broadly, research is informing efforts to end the Ebola epidemic.

Unable to join the live event? Watch on-demand. Register now to ensure that you receive information on how to gain access after the live event.

Ebola in Context – Understanding Transmission, Response and Control, http://www.lshtm.ac.uk/study/freeonlinecourses/ebola/?utm_source=LSHTMebola&utm_medium=Vector&utm_campaign=Ebolacourse

This free online course looks at how Ebola, a disease that many people had never heard of until last year, has caused a humanitarian crisis and worldwide panic. It examines the science behind the outbreak, to understand why it has occurred on this scale and how it can be controlled.

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment – 6 CCR 1009-1 – updated 10/15/2014

Ebola Research in the C-Span Video Library – http://www.c-span.org/video/?322515-1/discussion-ebola-research-needs

Identify, Isolate, Inform: Ambulatory Care Evaluation
of Patients with Possible Ebola Virus Disease (Ebola)

Web-based training for putting on and removing personal protective equipment to be used during the management of patients with Ebola Virus Disease in U.S. Hospitals

CDC’s Guidance on Personal Protection Equipment for Managing Patients with Ebola.

 

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • del.icio.us
  • RSS
  • email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>